Washington, DC

The Washington Chapter of TRF, formed in the early 1960s, draws its membership largely from federal agencies, consultants, trade associations, and local universities. Professions represented include economists, attorneys, engineers, accountants, policy analysts, and others. Membership meetings are held at lunchtime, usually the second or third Wednesdays of the month.

Recent speakers include: the former USDOT Under Secretary; former Staff Director of the House Transportation and Infrastructure Committee; senior staff at the Eno Center for Transportation and editor of its Transportation Weekly; Vice-president, American Association of Railroads; and  analysts from such major research organizations as the Congressional Budget Office, the Brookings Institution, and Reason Foundation.

Topics span all modes – urban, rural and intercity, freight and passenger, domestic and international – as well as policy, technical and legislative issues associated with these modes.

Monthly luncheon meetings are held at a downtown restaurant convenient to public transit.  The largest meeting of the year is held in January concurrently with the Annual TRB Meeting at a restaurant in close proximity to the TRB meeting site.

Chapter Leadership

Contact: Jack Ventura – jack.ventura@verizon.net

Position Name Affiliation
President Baruch Feigenbaum Reason Foundation
Executive Vice President Mike Smith Surface Transportation Board
Vice President – Programs Anne Stubbs Coalition of Northeastern Governors
Vice President – Membership Ann Warner Ann Warner LLC
Secretary Eric Peterson
Treasurer Jack Ventura
Immediate Past President Mel Sacks Natl Association of RR Passengers
Council Member #1 Nate Macek WSP|Parsons Brinckerhoff
Council Member #2 Marcin Skomial Surface Transportation Board
Council Member #3 Brian Sloboda US Department of Labor
Council Member #4 Jonathan Gifford George Mason University
Council Member #5
Council Member #6 Kevin Chisholm Mid-Atlantic Energy Consultants

Ex-officio Members, Past Presidents                              

Bill Huneke, STB
Art Guzzetti, APTA
Shirley Ybarra
Dan Dornan, Prince Georges County Govt.
Jack Wells
Frank Mulvey, ITER Associates
Joshua Schank, L.A. Metro
Isaac Shafran
Steve Thompson
Mark Dayton, DHS

For additional information about the DC chapter, events and members, contact Ann Warner.

Next Meeting…

Date: January 9, 2018
Topic: A Conversation with Ray LaHood
Speaker: Ray LaHood, Senior Policy Advisor
DLA Piper & Form Secretary, US Department of Transportation
View Meeting Info.