Dedicated to the exchange of ideas among
researchers, professionals, and students and
an informed citizenry since 1958.

2023 Savage Named Distinguished Researcher

For Immediate Release:

May 4, 2023

Ian Savage wins Distinguished Transportation Researcher Award
for his Work on Public Transportation and Safety

Chicago, IL, Ian Savage, a Northwestern University economist, won the Distinguished Transportation Researcher Award at the 64th Annual Transportation Research Forum on Friday, April 28th, 2023. The award recognizes individuals who have made important contributions to the field of transportation research.  A committee, chaired by the TRF President, evaluated nominees based on the quality, scope, and impact of their work.

Professor Savage’s research on urban public transportation and transportation safety, including his analyses of mass transit finances and regulatory oversight, is highly influential.  Savage’s safety research has dealt with the valuing of human life and understanding the economic rationale for the effectiveness of safety regulations. He has served on the executive committees of local, national, and international professional organizations in transportation research.

The Forum, held in downtown Chicago on DePaul University’s Loop Campus, attracted 140 researchers and professionals from around the world. 

About TRF

The Transportation Research Forum (TRF) is an independent organization of transportation professionals founded in 1958 to provide an impartial meeting ground for carriers, shippers, government officials, consultants, university researchers, suppliers, and others seeking an exchange of information and ideas on both passenger and freight transportation.  TRF conducts a national Annual Forum, and has chapters in New York, Washington DC, Chicago, Minneapolis-St. Paul, St. Louis, and South Korea.


Joe Schwieterman, Ph.D.
TRF President
[email protected]