Graduate Student Best Paper Award

Past Recipients

  • 2018: Justin Tyndall, “Light Rail Transit, Local Labour Market Outcomes and Household Sorting”
  • 2017: Kun Wang, University of British Columbia, “Modeling Airline Competition in Markets with Legacy Regulation:  The Case of the Chinese Domestic Markets” (1st Place)
  • 2017: Michael Hyland, Zihan Hong, Helen Karla Ramalho de Farias Pinto and Ying Chen, Northwestern University, “A Hybrid Cluster-Regression Approach to Forecast Ridership at Bikeshare Stations: Case Study of Chicago’s Divvy System” (2nd place)
  • 2016: No award made.
  • 2015: Jianjiang Yang, University of Tennessee, “A Spatio-Temporal Based Algorithm for Short-Term Speed Prediction” (1st Place)
  • 2015: Hyoshin Park, University of Maryland, “Optimal Number and Location of Bluetooth Sensors Considering Stochastic Optimal Time Prediction” (2nd Place)
  • 2014: Zhenhua Chen, George Mason University, “Multilevel Assessment of Public Transportation Infrastructure: A Spatial Econometric Computable General Equilibrium Approach” (1st Place)
  • 2014: Chenfeng Xiong, University of Maryland, “Dynamic Travel Mode Searching and Switching Analysis Considering Hidden Modal Preference and Behavioral Decision Process” (2nd Place)
  • 2013: Joongkoo Cho, University of Southern California, “Network Based Simulation of Air Pollution Emissions Associated with Truck Operations” (1st Place)
  • 2013: Xiaoyu Cathy Liu, University of Washington, “System-Wide Cost Benefit Analysis of Optimal Integrated Corridor Management (ICM) Strategies” (2nd Place)
  • 2012: Weihao Yin, Virginia Polytechnic & State University, “A New Framework for your Maritime Security Inspection under U.S. Security Protocols” (1st Place)
  • 2012: Andrew Brunner, South Carolina State University, “The Effects of Urban Sprawl on Daily-Life: Determining the Best Measures to Address Them” (2nd Place)
  • 2011: Carolina Osorio, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, “A Simulation-Based Optimization Framework for Urban Traffic Control”
  • 2010: Zhenhua Chen, George Mason University, “Analysis of Factors Affecting High Speed Train Ridership in the U.S. ? The Acela Express Case Study”
  • 2009: Kitae Jang, University of California, Berkeley, “A Dynamic Congestion Pricing Strategy for High-Occupancy Toll Lanes”
  • 2008: Junwook Chi, North Dakota State University, “Pricing Behaviors in the US Airline Industry”
  • 2007: Bala Vaidyanathan, Univesrity of Florida, “Multi-Commodity Network Flow Based Approaches for the Railroad Crew Scheduling Problem”